Rules of Operation
- To operate in the state of Ohio: Any sedan, limo, van, bus, etc. must be compliant and registered with the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO).
- To cross state lines for any form of compensation, a company must be USDOT registered and compliant.
- If you see a vehicle with city tags on it that means that the vehicle is only licensed to operate within the city limits.
- Most local companies only register on a local level to keep their cost down and avoid the stringent rules of the USDOT, such as drug testing, hours of operation, maintenance records, etc.
- Any company that crosses state lines that is not USDOT compliant is in violation of federal transportation laws and is subject to arrest and seizure of property as well as $11,000 fine per occurrence.
- Any vehicle that transports more 6 passengers across state lines is required to have the USDOT number displayed on both sides of the vehicle.
- All documents proving proper compliance and insurance must be kept in the car and be available for viewing up request.
- To transport 1- 15 passengers, a minimum insurance liability of $1.5 million dollars is required.
- To transport 16 passengers or more, a minimum insurance liability of $5 million is required.
- Be sure to ask to see a current certificate of insurance that clearly shows the policy amount and vehicle schedule.
- A CDL with passenger endorsement is required at all times when operating a vehicle that has a passenger capacity of 16 or more including the driver.
- Any company that does not use or follow these rules and regulations will probably be taking short cuts in other areas as well, such as training, insurance, maintenance, etc.